MINNETONKA INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #276 Service Center 5621 County Road 101 Minnetonka, Minnesota

Minutes of November 5, 2021 School Board Special Meeting

The School Board of Minnetonka Independent School District #276 met in special session at 8:30 a.m. on Friday, November 5 in the Community Room at the District Service Center, 5621 County Road 101, Minnetonka, Minnesota. Chairperson Chris Vitale presided. Also present were Board members Mark Ambrosen, Katie Becker, John Holcomb, Lisa Wagner and Superintendent Dennis Peterson, ex officio. Absent: Mike LeSage and John Odom.

Chairperson Vitale called the meeting to order and asked that everyone stand and recite the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

1. **AGENDA**

Wagner moved, Holcomb seconded, that the Board approve the agenda as presented. Upon vote being taken thereon, the motion carried unanimously.

2. CANVASS OF ELECTION RESULTS

Superintendent Peterson called upon Paul Bourgeois, Executive Director of Finance and Operations, to present the results of the School Board election held on November 2, 2021.

Mr. Bourgeois gave high praise to District employees Jacquie Steffel and Shannon Waggoner, and others in the Finance and Operations Department, and said they had all done an excellent job. Mr. Bourgeois noted that Minnesota Statutes 205A.10, Subd. 3 states that between the third and tenth days after a school district election other than a recount of a special election conducted under section 126C.17, subdivision 9, or 475.59, the School Board shall canvass the returns and declare the results of the election. The election was held on Tuesday, November 2, 2021.

Mr. Bourgeois presented the resolution canvassing the return of the votes cast that determined that Meghan Selinger, Patrick Lee-O'Halloran and Chris Vitale were the top vote-getters for the three four-year vacancies. Minnesota Statutes 123B.09 Subd. 1 states that the term of office of a member shall be four years commencing on the first Monday in January and until a successor qualifies. The first Monday in 2022 is January 3, 2022. Mr. Bourgeois recommended that the School Board approve the resolution as presented canvassing the returns of votes cast for the November 2, 2021 School Board General Election.

Holcomb moved, Becker seconded, that the Board approve the following resolution:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING THE RETURNS OF VOTES CAST IN THE SCHOOL BOARD GENERAL ELECTION OF NOVEMBER 2, 2021

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Minnetonka Independent School District No.276, as follows:

It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held November 2, 2021, was in all aspects duly and legally called and held.

As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of 11,775 voters of the district voted at said election of three school board members for four-year term vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on January 1 next following the general election as follows:

Meghan Selinger	4872
Patrick Lee-O'Halloran	4789
Christian Vitale	4567
Jessica Reader	4522
Michael Salyards	3823
Dan Olson	3232
Michael Remucal	2429
Beth Robertson-Martin	194

Candidates Selinger, Lee-O'Halloran, and Vitale, having the highest number of votes, are elected to four-year terms, beginning Monday, January 3, 2022.

The school district clerk is hereby directed to certify the results of the election to the county auditors in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

Upon vote being taken on the foregoing resolution, the motion carried unanimously.

3. **ADJOURNMENT**

Wagner moved, Holcomb seconded, adjournment at 8:40 a.m. Upon vote being taken thereon, the motion carried unanimously.

John Holcomb, Clerk